Uncategorized

Self-confidence

Hello again awesome people,

Today we discuss self-confidence, another dominant alpha male trait that will serve you well in your journey to reaching your full potential.

Self-confidence is a little bit of a tricky monster. It is generated by faith in your abilities, or success from the past, but without self-confidence it becomes very difficult to muster courage to take action. Unless it is practiced daily it becomes very hard to gain a strong sense of self-confidence that is generated from within.

The problem is one of a vicious self perpetuating cycle: no past success, no self-confidence. No self-confidence, no risks, or no success.

So the real question becomes how does one with little to no self-confidence gain some to take action?

The answer is remarkably simple: PERSPECTIVE!

Example from my past:

In college I was considerably overweight, I ate fast food like there was no tomorrow, I drank twelve cans of soda everyday and walked only when I had to go to my classes.

I took in tons of empty calories, lived a stressful and sedentary lifestyle, and did nothing about the fact that I felt so horrible about the way that I looked that I did nothing but make my bad situation worse.

I had no self-confidence, because I felt bad about the way that I looked, I could gain no self-confidence because I had caught myself up in a vicious self perpetuating cycle.

It wasn’t until after I graduated from college that I kicked my soda habit because my dentist told me unless I wanted to be the youngest guy he’d ever fit for dentures I needed to stop drinking soda, so I did.

I stopped drinking soda and I felt better, I drank more water, my skin looked better, I lost weight, a lot, and quickly. I felt better about myself and I noticed when I would go to social functions, women would smile at me more, want to talk to me more than when I was still in school which gave me confidence. It began spilling into all aspects of my life and I began to have more faith in me.

In all due fairness the catalyst that forced change was my dentist, but the quantifiable result was weight loss, a healthier me, and as a result, my self-confidence skyrocketed.

What I realized in hindsight was that if I would have shifted my perspective, focused on the potential for positive change instead of wallowing in my own self pity I would have gained that confidence years earlier.

Here’s a few ideas to give you self-confidence and force you to view yourself in a positive perspective without a catalyst forcing you to change:

-You’re reading this are you not? Constant growth and learning is a big alpha trait, way to go!

-Brag about you for a moment, think about your accomplishments from the past, successful relationships you’ve maintained with family and friends for years. (This is an indication that you have a tremendous amount of value.)

-Smile, at all people you interact with today. Strangers and friends/family alike. The power of a smile is palpable, others feel happy when you smile, as do you because you generated that feeling in someone else.

-Compliment someone today, anyone, be it on an article of clothing they wear, or a character trait you’ve observed about them, compliment someone. You are a wise and shrewd alpha, show your appreciation for others.

-Do something today that gets you out of your comfort zone a little. Watch a TV show or movie you’ve never seen, strike up a conversation with a bored person while running errands, read an article in cosmopolitan, do something today that you normally would not do.

After you have completed one or more of these tasks take a moment of self reflection and remember to yourself that you have reasons to be self-confident! The world needs you to be at your best due to the fact that we have little time on this earth! The world deserves you at your best and we are heading in the right direction gents! I’m proud of you!

Tomorrow we discuss Drive, another trait that is self generated.

Keep on shining awesome guys, until tomorrow, yours truly,

Spencer Saunders

Standard

Leave a Reply

